Headsets etc ( Newbie )

Hi. I’m fairly new to EEG headsets , biofeedback etc.

I am a software developer and in the health industry. I’m looking for a resonably priced EEG headset - and looking to purchase software ( or maybe develop some if it’s too expensive and there is a good SDK )

I am looking to support executive function through biofeedback cost effectively ( for things like ADHD , Apergers etc ) . I’m not really looking to make lots of $$ or anything like that - would just like to be able to use it with family / friends.

Thanks for your time & insight :slight_smile:

‘neuromore’ is a free VPL visual programming language environment that allows you to build your own neurofeedback designs.

https://doc.neuromore.com/?cat=0&page=2

That page shows a list of supported devices. Another similar VPL is BrainBay,

Thanks so much! There are so many headsets to choose from - and it seems like it’s better to get more than the “single sensor” ones like Nerosky mindwave.

Is there one that most people agree is the best value for money with features / extensibility balanced with price?

Welcome to the forum @Martin_Thompson!

@wjcroft is extremely knowledgeable about neurofeedback, so my suggestions should be discarded if he has alternate advice.

As far as I’ve seen there’s not really a consensus about the best multi-channel headset or amplifier to use. It depends a lot on your intended usage, technical comfort level, and budget.

From experience and what I’ve heard from first hand reports, I would say that:

• Neurosky and Muse are the easy to use, inexpensive and allow data access, but have only a few, fixed-location channels;
  • Emotiv EPOC has 16 channels, but the saline electrodes make for questionable signal quality, and the data is unavailable unless you get the expensive developer version or work through this hack;