Introducing myself

Hello there!
I saw there is no introductory topic and I thought to start one.
Please introduce yourself, what do you do for a living, where do you live and what sort of projects you are involved in, or how you use / intend to use EEG.

I am currently working as a web developer in Greece, I recently discovered my enthusiasm for neuroscience and just purchased a Ganglion board. I was involved in reiki and meditation and with the use of the Ganglion board I want to experiment with myself when doing reiki / meditation, listening to binaural beats or ASMR.

2 Likes

Great idea @celtic_harp, and good to meet you!

I’m an amateur scientist, professional programmer, musician, and writer from a remote island on the west coast of Canada. I’ve been interested in neuroscience for a while, but only really started experimenting with EEG when OpenBCI ran their first Kickstarter.

Some of my current projects in the field include EEGrunt (a collection of open-source Python EEG + ECG analysis utilities for OpenBCI and Muse), the BCIBox (an open source enclosure for OpenBCI), various experiments and tutorials on The Autodidacts, and this forum.

Right now I’m excited about studying the effects of reading and listening to music with EEG, as well as experimenting with neurofeedback and meditation. (A huge number of people are interested in this, and @AdamM is working on an article on the topic.)

Wow! Such a pleasure to meet you! What kind of music do you play?
The effects of listening to music are very interesting indeed. I would also like to experiment on it one day too, especially when listening to harp, that seems to have a huge effect on me emotionally.
Keep up the good work!

1 Like

http://blog.gtec.at/mcmaster-livelab-interview-dave-thompson/

1 Like

That’s wonderful!
How about you, wjcroft?

Hi Celtic and Isa, I’m a musician also, improvisational music. You can read about that on this page,

http://lightfield.com/iii.htm