Wanted: BCI mouse clicker

Hello, my name is Ken Brooks and I’m a professional software engineer. Nearly 30 years ago, before the ergonomics were well studied, I injured my hands due to excessive use of the keyboard, and they have been a limiting factor in my work ever since.

I program mostly using LabVIEW, which requires a lot more mousing than typing. For years I used my feet to click a trackball button on the floor, while using my hand to glide the mouse without clicking it, which is not strenuous. But at last some little ligament in my knees has rebelled against this unnatural and very repetitive movement. I need to find another click method. And so I turn to BCI, with bright hope.

All I need is ONE LITTLE BINARY BIT! Or preferably two, for left-click and right-click. But it needs to be doable hundreds of times per day without undue strain, and it needs to not be too readily triggered unintentionally while I’m pondering my work. And it needs to be usable alongside of an ordinary mouse, which I will use from time to time.

I already have an interface; I can plug in any on/off switch and get it to function as my mouse button. I am prepared to do some programming; I am prepared to do some further interfacing; I am prepared to spend some effort to train both myself and my device. But I’m looking for advice: would any of the off-the-shelf devices out there such as NeuroSky or Muse 2 be likely to serve my need? Has anyone done anything like this already?

1 Like

Ken, hi. Have you considered EMG (electromyography), instead of EEG, BCI? With a small EMG sensor, you could attach it to any muscle group that you can control with low stress. Perhaps such as jaw, eyebrow, etc. Regards, William

1 Like